jump to navigation

Review – Scissors For Lefty "Underhanded Romance" (2007) August 26, 2008

Posted by rawkfistmusic in 2007, Scissors For Lefty.
trackback

Written by Bree

It wasn’t really written out in bold letters when all this ridiculous Indie slam, jam crap started, but from what my deductive reasoning can tell, it was definitely before 2002. The band members, Bryan Garza, Peter Krimmel and James Krimmel got together in San Luis Obispo while attending college and decided to put themselves together a little band of sorts. In 2002 Bryan’s Uncle Robby got involved. Then in 2006 Robby and Bryan pulled their relative Steven into this mess. And unlike a lot of experimental bands that are having difficulties getting themselves a creditable name and haven’t been signed, they produced themselves up a debut, BRUNO, in 2005.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve really been looking for the perfect band to rip to shreds and just completely annihilate for weeks now. I have mentally been begging for the opportunity to really just dash an album to bits. Well, ladies and gentlemen, the time has come.

When I clicked on that small windows media play button, I really didn’t know what to expect. I hadn’t been told fantastic things, so maybe I was searching for mediocre. What I got was nowhere NEAR mediocre. It was downright dreadful. I do believe my exact first thought was: Did these hooligans REALLY get signed? And then as I clicked on biography: Damnit all, Eenie Meenie Records actually signed them, and put one more worthless album out on the streets: Underhanded Romance, released June 12th.

The album starts out with a track called “Nickels and Dimes“. Its got all the usual stuff. A guitarist, a drummer, a vocalist, possibly a few other supporting instruments and maybe even some extra vocals in the back- honestly, it doesn’t matter, because the song wasn’t really worth my time. You’ve heard this kind of beat before- there’s really nothing fresh about this track at all. The riffs are plain and the drumming painfully repetitive. The vocalist repeats “Hey Hey Nickels and Dimes,” over and over- and as far as I’ve heard, there’s not really a deep meaning to the lyrics, they’re just rhymes a 2nd grader could concoct. Quite frankly- what a disappointment. After some of the raves this band got, I didn’t see that song coming.

As the computer monitor blinked out of sleep mood, I found myself curious about what would come next. NOT out of excitement, mind you. It was out of dread. Surely the 2nd song couldn’t be as bad as the first. Ha Ha Miss Breezee- Incorrect. The song is WORSE than the first. Next to Argyle has your tambourines, your drums, guitars, bass, a vocalist or two, and some support instruments. The vocalist is what gets on my nerves the most. He’s Saying something along the lines of, “B-B-B-B-B-B-Browns,” I believe. I looked for lyrics, I couldn’t find any- my assumption is that everyone agreed that it just wasn’t worth it. The male singer sounds like he’s gone a bit on the feminine side in half the song, singing fairly high- Disclaimer: Not always a bad thing, Jake does it quite well in fact- and I just really don’t think it works for them. As the end of the song states, “I could be wro-onggggg.” Though- Heed my warning: I don’t think I am.

The agony continues. This little piece of hell has 11 tracks of hideousness. Take the time with me to skip down to track 4- where you will meet a curious mix. The song starts out with a “Mhm, hmmm, Mhm, Hmmm…” I don’t like it at all. At this point that probably isn’t very hard to believe- but it’s the next part that gets me. A beautiful guitar begins to play. What IS music coming too? They have a beautiful sounding instrument and they’re adding it to… techno-ish disturbances and Indie backsplash? The vocalist comes next, saying something inaudible for the most part, and filtered for sure. Then the techno shit starts again. The song ends about the same way it started- beautiful guitar riffs included.

By now I’m really sick of this album, but I’m willing to send my point clear to the moon with one or two more examples. I’d also like to take the time to point out that I just fell asleep to this album- so the contagious energy some albums have? Yeah, totally didn’t affect this album. Lets take a look at track 8- That’s a ways down, maybe they’ve gotten better. I’ll just answer for you- No. No they definitely didn’t get better. The instrumentalists in the group are phenomenal, but being the cold hearted person I am- sorry guys, the vocals are ridiculous, and quite frankly- Just knock it off. If you MUST listen to this track, please, just do me a favor and pay attention to instruments only. Forget the voices.

I’m sure in an offset kind of way this album was spectacular to many, but in my eyes, the album reeked. It was unoriginal and an overall dud of what true Indie is capable of. With that, I’d like to finish up with this: The album made me fall asleep twice- the lack of energy is costing Scissors For Lefty some points. Some other points are deducted when it comes to lyrics and vocals- They suck, ignore them. The guitars were alright but the drummers were monotonous and lacked any real flavor. The tambourines were one of the most exciting parts of the entire album, AND I just about called it quits on the attempt to review this crap. A gentle warning to rockers everywhere- Leave this album on the shelf- it deserves all the dust and bugs it can collect.

4 out of 10

Download This: Nickels and Dimes

Comments»

1. Anonymous - August 27, 2008

Goodness, you really hate our band. Glad we struck a chord, even if it was out of your pitch. You must be a drummer, that or allergic to playful language.

Sadly, you’re going to fall madly in love with our new album….and that truly makes me blush. Anyhoo, thanks for supporting a narrow minded spectrum of dim macho music, fuck face!!!

🙂

-Your Boss

2. Anonymous - August 27, 2008

Hi there Bree, aka girlfriend,

You really are very transparent, and should use your real name. Also, please stick to reviewing bands that you and your girlfriend do not have a personal vendetta against.

To imply that the lead singer, or anyone in the band, for that matter is feminine is hilarious. These guys are 100% heterosexual and the album is packed with sexual appeal.

PS: Your girlfriend confided in me that she is getting ready to dump you — she just can't take your new haircut, on top of the extra 20 pounds you've put on.

Love & kisses,

IndieRockerGirl aka Rena

3. Anonymous - August 27, 2008

What a crock — and so obvious that this reviewer is trying to slander a truly great indie band. Check them out on myspace. They are phenomenal.

4. Gravity - August 28, 2008

Oh goodness me, hate mail! Well, they do say there’s no such thing as bad publicity.

I would like to vouch personally, that myself (Andrew), Jake, and Bree are all not only our own individual beings, but each using our real names. Clearly we are unafraid of internet attackers.

As far as I know, no one in this little circle of ours has a major vendetta against SFL. I can’t say for certain of course, but I know I certainly have no problem with them. Please also try to remember that this is a site founded on opinion as are most websites specializing in music reviews. Not everything we say will be well-recieved but we at least want to sound mildly intelligent while doing so.

Either way, I hope you find your way back to Rawkfist sometime soon to see another of your favorite bands get shit on. Just kidding, we don’t do bad reviews that often, we’re all fairly open-minded here.

Thanks,
Andrew

5. Jake S. - August 28, 2008

This is Jake, folks. Nice to make your very angry aquaintance.

I would just like to point out that I personally DO have a personal vendetta against SFL. Not because I hate the music they play, or the people in the band. To be frank, I don’t know anyone in the band well enough to judge them, nor do I listen to enough Indy music to know what is good and what is bad. I do however know that I have an opinion, and my opinion of this CD is even more severe than Bree’s.

Thank you, and good night.

6. Bree - August 30, 2008

Wow, Alright, i fear as those I’ve made enemies here.

As Andrew said, This site is a reviewing site, clearly made to express opinions of certain music we listen too.

If you love SFL then feel free to listen to them, noone is stopping you. It was simply my opinion expressed, and I don’t appreciate the comments, but of course, I’m not going to seek any kind of comeback. My real name is Breeanna however, Bree is my nickname.

I hope you come across the site in the future and check out some other bands.

Thanks,
Bree

7. Jackson Tilapia - February 12, 2010

But SFL do suck….. Especially the poser singer who spo wants to be Jarvis Cocker….Lame, pretentious and unbearable!!!

8. Bree - June 6, 2010

Agreed Jackson Tilapia. Agreed.

-Bree


Leave a Reply

