jump to navigation

Review – Linkin Park "Minutes To Midnight" (2007) July 16, 2008

Posted by rawkfistmusic in 2007, Linkin Park.
trackback

Written by Jake


May 14, 2007 will forever be, in my eyes, one of the saddest days known to man. It trumps Pearl Harbor. It trumps the day the first shot was fired in WWII. Hell, it trumps the day Michael Jackson and R. Kelly got off not-guilty.

That fateful day, yours truly found himself at Best Buy doing one of the very few things that he regrets. Buying Linkin Park’s 3rd studio album, entitled “Minutes To Midnight”.

I was naïve, I was convinced this CD would live up to the hype I had built up inside of myself. I got home and put the CD into my computer. I hit play. I washed over by 43:30 of the biggest let down I have ever experienced.

There was no more Hybrid Theory or Meteora. There was no Reanimation, no Collision Course. All I heard emanating from my speakers was Rick Rubin demolishing any semblance of my favorite band in existence.

That man did terrible things to Linkin Park. Horrific, unforgiveable things. It tore me up inside to listen to this CD and know that every teenage girl and guy who listened to the local Hit Music station would love this piece of crap, and I would be left with nothing.

The first four singles, “What I’ve Done”, “Bleed It Out”, “Shadow of the Day” and “Given Up” are the pinnacles of this opus. They are some on Linkin Park’s finest works to date. But combine that with the other eight tracks and run straight through you’ve got a pretty powerful experience. If not one completely unworthy of having the name Linkin Park attached to it.

There is just no substance to any of the songs on the CD. They lack any real method, and tend to lean toward the emo side of modern rock that plagues almost all bands now-a-days. The one upside I’ve noticed is that all of these songs are fun to sing along with. Now if it were just a children’s movie and not a failing opus with a Parental Advisory sticker on the front.

I suffered through delusions that this was a good direction for Linkin Park to go for awhile. About a year, actually. I would tell people, “Dude, go pick up Minutes To Midnight, it’s a great CD,” but I was simply feeding them lies to help myself sleep at night.

Ask anyone that knows me and you will find out that I am quite possibly one of the biggest Linkin Park nerds on the face of the planet. I would go to any length to defend their credibility and showmanship, but how do they expect me to help them along if they send me crap like this?

As much as it pains me to say it, I cannot, in sound mind and body, recommend this epic to anyone anymore. I have done my damage already, and who knows what is has wrought. On this note, I would like to leave you with an admission.

My name is Jake, and I’m a LP addict.

4 out of 10

Download This – “What I’ve Done”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

